Rolf Boldrewood


Held annually from 2006 to 2017, the Rolf Boldrewood Literary Awards aimed to foster the writing of prose and poetry with an Australian content. 

These awards honoured Rolf Boldrewood, the pen name of Thomas Browne, who during his time as police magistrate in Dubbo wrote Robbery Under Arms, one of the first major Australian novels.

The Rolf Boldrewood Literary Awards 2017 marked the final year of this competition at Macquarie Regional Library.

2017 Winners


First prize
Old woman crazy with the snakes  by Phillip M. Everett

Second prize
Shazza's sheep  by Tegan Van Der Linden

Third prize 
After the fire  by Roxeena Bidgood

Highly commended

Montage  by Val Clark

Vixens  by Judy Tait

Dresses of light  by Jacqueline Trott


The legend of Herman Lockwood  by Paul Clarke

In the New Land  by Caroline Miley

The Wall  by Kat Pekin


First prize
Carpet Snake Totem  by Roger Vickery

Second prize
The Man with the Donkey  by Jeff Guess

Third prize
The Red Kangaroos of the Landsborough Highway  by Jenny Pollak

Highly commended
The 810 Pemulwuy Express  by Jenny Pollak